Finding Happiness in México City 🇲🇽

Tam Pham
9 min readMay 15, 2023

I randomly saw a flyer for an acro-yoga class in Puerto Escondido, México.

My best friend and I walked up the stairs of the cafe to see another Asian person introduce himself as the teacher. The intro class was surprisingly fun. And the conversation afterward was quite amusing.

We asked,

“What the hell are you (an Asian dude) doing in a random beach town in México?”

He was a financial something back in Europe that did some vague stuff and came to México to escape everything. TBH it sounded like he was running away from a white-collar crime or something sketchy. 😂

After we parted ways, my friend joked and said if everything went wrong, I could always move to México. This made us laugh so much because, throughout the whole trip, it felt like she was my mom dragging me around.

I spoke zero Spanish and didn’t have any interest in exploring México or learning about their culture back in 2018. In retrospect, I only went on that trip because I was high on Tim Ferriss and he said that traveling to new countries is what young people should do.

Fast forward 5 years later, I find it so funny how drastically things change. I just finished my 3rd trip in one year to México where I danced every day and truly explored more of this beautiful…

--

--

Tam Pham

Writer, Bachata Dancer, Chess Expert. I write about my weird, unconventional life at TamPham.co